What Cat Cooked…

Food I'm growing, cooking, eating and dreaming about

Creamy simple baked rice pudding


As you probably already know, I love a good rice pudding – I love comfort food and what could be more comforting than creamy, sweet rice with a chewy caramelised top layer?

This is a really simple recipe as it eliminates the need to stand around the stove stirring the rice for almost an hour. This is the dessert version of a one pot wonder. Chuck everything into the dish, give it a quick stir, throw it in the oven and voila, a delicious dessert (or a quick brekkie, in my case).

You could swap the brown sugar for white if you prefer, and serve this with some warm stewed fruit or jam. Yum!

Creamy baked rice pudding

Serves 4-6

1/2 cup arborio rice
3 cups whole milk
1/2 cup cream
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla paste

Put your unwashed rice in a medium oven proof dish.

Mix the milk, cream, vanilla and sugar in a bowl (or even easier, throw it all in with the rice). Give everything a good stir.

Cover tightly with aluminium foil and put in a pre-heated oven at 190 degree C for one hour.

After one hour remove the foil and leave for a further 20-30 minutes until brown.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Creamy simple baked rice pudding

  1. Finally a rice pud recipe that doesn’t call for cooked rice! I have been craving rice pudding for the longest time as it doesn’t get served much here in the States, which is where I now live. It’s in the oven as I write……

    • Thanks Tina, hope you liked it! I don’t know many places in aus that sell it either, which is why a good home recipe is a must! I have also posted a version where you cook it on the stove. Enjoy!

Leave a comment